Bank call-centres’ verification questions: Tellers who can’t listen to a wrong answer and act like it’s the right one

You know the whole story of how bank call-centre tellers have to ask you a whole bunch of questions to verify that you are, indeed, who you say you are.

What was your last payment method, what’s your credit limit, what’s your mother’s maiden name etc.

I’ve never had an issue with answering these questions. In fact, I appreciate them for the sense of security they give me.

The problem is, sometimes I forget the right answer to these questions. For example, with all the credit cards I have, I don’t always remember the credit limit of each card (“is it 3k? 6k? 8k?”).

And more often than not, judging from the response/stuttering of the teller over the phone, I can tell if I got the answer right or wrong.

Doesn’t that defeat the purpose of these questions anyways? If I know I’m wrong from the way you sound over the phone, I’d quickly change my answer to something else.

It’s almost as if they were not ready to handle forgers/phony phonecalls.

Somebody somewhere is gonna one day take advantage of this, if not already.

0 Responses to “Bank call-centres’ verification questions: Tellers who can’t listen to a wrong answer and act like it’s the right one”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

